Bildschirmfoto 2018-01-10 um 00.44.45

Sled Dogs at Innerkrems

Sled Dogs at Innerkrems

The Nockberge Longtrail aka Innerkrems is regarded with good reason as Austria’s most challenging dog sledding and is, at the same time, its last remaining Longtrail.

The race is set against the magnificent backdrop of the Carinthian Nock Mountains and offers an incredible view, once you have made your way up to the mountaintops. Which is not an easy task: No less than 3 peaks have to be climbed, a total ascent of 4500 meters in altitude on an overall length of ca. 90 kilometers.

In 2019 Europe’s best mushers will be hosted at Innerkrems for the 24rd time. Together with their best friends, the Siberian Huskies, the Alaskan Malamutes, the Greenland dogs and the Samoyeds – the actual super stars of any dog sledding – they will master ca. 30 kilometers and 1000 meters in altitude each day

.

For more information see unter Veranstaltungen

Mastering the distance with the heavy bivouac stuff on the sled is an enormous challenge for the dogs as well as the mushers. Not forgetting the difficult downhills that got quite a number of contestants into a sweat. For more than 20 years now men and dogs have made their way through the Innerkrems and this has given rise to a number of legends. We recommend to everybody interested in participating in this challenging to show up with well-trained dogs and start the race according to the motto “just do it.”

BERNHARD MORITZ, Co-Organizer

Bildschirmfoto 2018-01-10 um 00.44.45

Schlittenhunde in der Innerkrems

Schlittenhunde in der Innerkrems

Der Nockberge Longtrail oder „Innerkrems“ gilt zurecht als das härteste Rennen Österreichs und auch zugleich der letzte Longtrail in der Alpenrepublik.

Das Rennen findet vor der wunderbaren Kulisse der Nockberge in Kärnten statt und zeichnet sich besonders durch die unglaubliche Aussicht aus, wenn man sich erst einmal die Gipfel erarbeitet hat. Dafür muss man aber ganz schön was leisten. Es sind nicht weniger als 3 Gipfel zu meistern, die mehreren Renntagen durch insgesamt 4500 Höhenmeter Aufstieg auf einer Gesamtlänge von ca. 90km zu erklimmen sind.

2018 werden bereits zum 23. Mal werden Europas beste Musher (=Schlittenhundeführer) in Innerkrems zu Gast sein. Zusammen mit ihren besten Freunden, den Sibirian Huskys, den Alaskan Malamutes, den Grönlandhunden und den Samojeden – den wahren Superstars eines jeden Schlittenhunderennens – werden sie die ca. 30 km und über 1000 Höhenmeter tagtäglich bewältigen.

Weitere Informationen unter Veranstaltungen.

Die Strecke mit dem schweren Biwakmaterial im Schlitten zu bewältigen stellt eine enorme Herausforderung für Hund und Musher dar. Nicht zu vergessen die schweren Abfahrten, bei denen so macher schon gehörig ins schwitzen kam. Schon seit über 20 Jahren kämpfen sich Mensch und Tier durch die Innerkrems und dabei ist so manche Legende entstanden. Wir empfehlen allen Interessierten mit gut trainierten Hunden zu kommen und das Rennen nach dem Motto "just do it" in Angriff zu nehmen. Bisher hat es noch niemand bereut.

BERNHARD MORITZ, Mitorganisator